Is there a 13th sign of the zodiac??

Astrology is based on the seasons and the relationships between the planets and not what sign is located behind the Sun when you were born. The zodiac signs are symbols that divide the year into 12 different and equal parts. The Cardinal signs – Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn, for example, always herald a new season no matter where you are in the world. For example, Aries heralds the start of spring in the northern hemisphere and autumn in the southern hemisphere. We associate the cardinal signs with being leaders and catalysts for change – and they reflect that in the changing of our seasons. Then the fixed signs – Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius – are all in the middle of the season – when the time is more settled and routines and regularity can be established. Finally, we have the mutable signs – Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces – and these are the restless signs that need change and variety and they also represent learning – and they lead back into the Cardinal signs which indicate a whole change of season and direction. That’s why we are feeling such big changes globally and personally right now in the world because many of the major planets are moving into Cardinal signs. This means that the time for procrastination is over and it’s time for action.  

Astrology was developed by the Babylonians and during that time, the constellation of Aries happened to be situated right behind the sign Aries during the spring equinox. The actual star constellations are astrologically irrelevant to modern astrology. It is vital never to equate the signs of the zodiac with fixed star constellations. Fixed star constellations are configurations of stars that can be seen in the sky. Sun signs cannot be seen in the sky as they are mathematical divisions of the annual path of the Sun in the sky of exactly 30 degree size for each of the 12 signs.

Astrologers have known about the 13th constellation for eons. In the second century BC, the renowned astrologer and astronomer Ptolemy was fully aware of precession of the equinoxes. Still, he decided to give up star constellations and to let the zodiac begin with 0 degrees Aries. He did this because he believed that the actual constellations of fixed stars were not relevant for astrology and that the sun signs should be fixed at the cardinal points of the Sun’s annual path.

Astrologers have incorporated the earth’s wobble into their understanding of the connection between the stars and life on earth. If you have ever heard about the Age of Aquarius you may also know that this follows the Age of Pisces which was preceded by the Age of Aries. The Ages go backwards to compensate for the earth’s wobble.

So I hope this explains it for those of you who are still questioning whether you are a different sign. Relax, and know that nothing has changed. If you are an Aries you have not suddenly become a Pisces – I mean, how can a full blooded Aries possibly think twice about jumping into something exciting and new?? Gemini has not slipped back into being a Taurus. My Gemini friend is married to a Taurus, and he isn’t suddenly rushing around, jumping into new projects with great enthusiasm. He is still taking his time with everything and she has days when she feels as though she is dragging a ball and chain with her….but at least he brings stability into her life.

Enjoy the sign that you are and find out the ways of making best use of its energies. Panic over!


One Response to Is there a 13th sign of the zodiac??

Leave a Reply


Member ISAR
International Society for Astrological Research, Inc.
Back to Top